Airshow 2016

I went to see aerial displays at the national airshow today. Turning my eyes to the white, bright, cloudy sky was difficult. Not only did my eyes begin to hurt after a few minutes, but my floaters came on in full force and I began to see lots of bright stars too (the usually blue-field entoptic ones, except made worse because it was so damn bright).

I felt myself beginning to panic. All “mindfulness” tactics went out the window, but I did try to focus on the planes instead of the floaters/stars. It kind of failed when I deliberately tried to do it, but funnily enough, when it got to the really beautiful Korean “Black Eagles” display, I pretty much forgot about both without even trying! I was just staring at the formations eagerly and cheering.

Goes to show your brain really can block these out if it is distracted. After that, I forgot about them again as I went around to see the planes/helicopters. Makes me feel a lot better, in hindsight. :)

Leave a Reply

